On January 19, 2019, self-identified women and people of all genders will march around the nation and around the globe for the third year in a row. PFT will form a contingent to join the Women’s March Oakland and we invite you and your family and friends to be there!

The Mission of Women’s March Oakland is “to harness the political power of diverse women and their communities in Oakland and the greater East Bay to create transformative social change”.  At this nonpartisan, peaceful event on the Saturday before Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, we will activate our communities and publicly proclaim our commitment, in Scott King’s words, to “create new homes, new communities, new cities, a new nation. Yea, a new world, which we desperately need!”

This motion of women is a motion for all of us who need a new world and is not focused on narrowly defined women’s issues. Women’s March Oakland is focused on 4 areas: Civil Rights, Ending Violence, Immigrant Rights and Youth.   What follows are excerpts from the National Women’s March Values and Principles (https://www.womensmarch.com/principles/):

  • We believe that Women’s Rights are Human Rights and Human Rights are Women’s Rights.

  • We believe Gender Justice is Racial Justice is Economic Justice.

  • Women have the right to live full and healthy lives, free of all forms of violence against our bodies.

  • We believe in accountability and justice for police brutality and ending racial profiling and targeting of communities of color and Indigenous peoples.

  • We believe in Reproductive Freedom.

  • We firmly declare that LGBTQIA Rights are Human Rights and that it is our obligation to uplift, expand and protect the rights of our gay, lesbian, bi, queer, trans, two-spirit or gender non-conforming brothers, sisters and siblings.

  • We believe in an economy powered by transparency, accountability, security and equity.

  • We believe in equal pay for equal work and the right of all women to be paid equitably.

  • We stand for the rights, dignity, and fair treatment of all unpaid and paid caregivers.

  • We believe that all workers – including domestic and farm workers – must have the right to organize and fight for a living minimum wage, and that unions and other labor associations are critical to a healthy and thriving economy for all.

  • We believe migration is a human right and that no human being is illegal.

If you care about these issues, please join your PFT sisters, brothers and family on January 19. United actions like this make a difference and can be inspirational and fun!

Meet at PFT office 9-9:30 am for donuts, then march to Lake Merritt Amphitheater to rally at 10 am.

See the schedule on the attached flyer.

In unity,


Kimberly R. King, Ph.D.

PFT Diversity Chair

TO:                  All Dues-Paying Members of the Peralta Federation of Teachers

DATE:             March 22-24, 2019

SUBJECT:      2019 Election of Delegates to the CFT Convention

The 77th Annual Convention of the California Federation of Teachers has been called to convene at the Millennium Biltmore in Los Angeles from March 22-24, 2019.  The Peralta Federation of Teachers can send as many as 29 delegates to this convention. The ten delegates with the highest votes, in addition to the PFT President, will be reimbursed up to $700 for documented convention-related expenses and $500 for partial attendance (allocations have been made for 5 full-time faculty and 5 part-time faculty to attend).


Nominees and the person nominating them must be current dues-paying members of the PFT. If you’re not sure you are a member, contact the PFT office (phone: 510-763-8820). Please make certain that whoever you nominate is willing and able to attend the convention, and is a PFT dues-paying member. Self-nominations are acceptable and encouraged.

All nominations must be received in the PFT office no later than
2 p.m. on Friday, December 14, 2018.


Contact Us

500 East Eighth Street
Suite B
Oakland, CA 94606-2825
Phone: (510)763-8820
E-mail address: Union@pft1603.org